2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Upgrade/Maintenance tips for this Noob

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 01:32 PM
Optimus
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrade/Maintenance tips for this Noob

Hello,

I just bought my first Dodge, so I am new to them (though I am not new to vehicle repair in general). I'm looking for some additional tips and things to look for on my new (used) truck beyond what I've found so far. My truck is a 1998 Ram Sport 5.9L auto quad cab 4x4 short box. I already know about the intake oil leak issue, and it's too soon to tell if my truck has a problem or not. My steering is pretty sloppy too, though this is somewhat the "norm" for solid axle trucks. That being said, I checked all ball joints and all were tight. The slop seems to be in the gear box itself. I looked through the DYI guide and found the fix for this already (adjusting with a wrench).

Other info I'm still looking for:

1. Someone mentioned to me that the MSD ignition upgrade is "the bomb" for these trucks, but they didn't mention specific hardware and weren't sure of part #'s. Perhaps you more knowledgeable Dodge enthusiasts will have a better idea?
2. Recommendations for spark plug wires and spark plugs? Not sure when they were last changed other than it was probably about 30k ago when the heads were removed and serviced due to a ticking that developed for the previous owner. The current plug wires are crappy carquest ones. These have got to go.
3. As a possible result of old/crappy plugs/wires, the idle is not as smooth as it probably could be. Granted, the truck has 170k on it, and I've seen rougher idle than this on other vehicles, but I'd like to get it a little smoother.