2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

97 ram cruise won't even turn on

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2009, 04:22 AM
speeddemon31176
All Star
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 97 ram cruise won't even turn on

Sorry for the long posting but I want to be specific. Oh I am new to the forum too by the way. I just got the truck 8 days ago so i am very new to this truck. I have repaired several neglected items on the truck including the clock spring. It had the air bag light on as well as no horn or cruise. The horn now works and the airbag light is off but still no cruise. I have removed and cleaned the contacts in the switches and replaced the clock spring. I have also checked for power at the plug on the column side of the clock spring for power to cruise switches and no power. I then checked at the brake switch and no power on any wire except the pinkish colored wire for brake input. I then replaced the brake switch and adjusted it per manual instructions. Still no power to cruise. The little green light does not come on to even indicate power to the unit. I checked for power at the servo and nothing. I do not see any corrosive issue there either. plug and vacuum line look brand new. I do not know which pins to check at the PCM in order to see if that is bad. I am trying to use the 2001 manual I found on here but I do not want to fry something out by testing the wrong pinout. I am getting mvolts of .006-.008 at the other pins at the brake switch by the way. I do not know which way to go from here. I am going to the junk yard today so any help before hand or suggestions are welcome. I am thinking of picking up a couple of computers on the cheap to try and test. Is there anything I should look for in the JY units? I need a throttle cable anyhow. Are they common to fray out by