2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

4wd not working?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 05:37 PM
townsley4
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4wd not working?!?!

hey i just got my tranny rebuilt in my truck, and it runs alot better. but now since it has snowed and my driveway is covered..i go to put my truck in 4h and nothing happens. the light doesnt come on. it used to..like a month before i tested it for liek 10 fet..and it worked..but now the light wont come on, and there was this whining noise that i could hear whenever i shift from 4wd to 2h or from 2h to 4wd.... i dotn know for sure that the 4wd isnt working...but the light isnt coming on.

Old 12-29-2009, 05:50 PM
chuy777

Im not an expert, but if im not mistaken, there are 2 vaccum lines that lead from the transmission to the front differential under the passanger side, verify if they are connected. those lines engage your 4x4. regarding the whinning noise, if the lines are disconnected, your transmission is creating a vaccum and that may be the noise. that would be my first guess. that vaccum line engages the light also. If they are connecte, check to see if they lines arent plugged.
I dont know how much vaccum is required to engage it, but someone with a higher knowledge of this may be able to tell you.

Old 12-29-2009, 05:52 PM
meanwhitemopar
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post