2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Crate Engine + Turbo problems/questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 08:31 PM
Chaddd07
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crate Engine + Turbo problems/questions

Alright...

So I am young and love the thrill of speed so I have been saving a lot of money so I would be able to do this...(I posted before and made the decision to go with the turbo)

I want to make my truck a casual driver/race on the weekends type truck. I want to buy a crate engine, turbo, and new tranny.

I really can't find a turbo for my 96 dodge ram 1500 5.2 or a good crate engine but part of that is because I am paranoid on who to buy it from? Now, I am not very good with trucks but I am casual with the whole changing oil, brakes, and stuff like that...not very good with everything else. So the real question is...can anyone point me out in the right direction? I will definitely keep the project updated and it won't happen till about May but I want to start purchasing the stuff now. If you could help me or point me out to some places that would be awesome!

I looked at Eddies crate engines...anyone ever buy or have a friend buy from them?

My budget is $10,000 max. I am not rich nor are my parents helping me...just been saving a lot of money.

Thanks in advance.

Chad

Old 02-18-2010, 08:35 PM
RamSport97
Record Breaker

Seems like if you are wanting to do something like this you should sell your truck, and take that money, and your $10,000 budget, and go buy a Ford Lightning.

Old 02-18-2010, 08:40 PM
Chaddd07

Originally Posted by RamSport97
Seems like if you are wanting to do something like this you should sell your truck, and take that money, and your $10,000 budget, and go buy a Ford Lightning.
How could you say such a thing?

Old 02-18-2010, 08:48 PM