2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to the truck scene w/ some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2010, 01:34 PM
a-master
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the truck scene w/ some questions.

Let me introduce myself:
My name is Alex. I am from maryland and I just purchased a Ram 1500 Sport, but I have never owned a truck. I'm a pretty handy mechanic, I built some LS1's for older Camaro's, done some transmission work so I know my way around an engine bay.

This is the truck:

A few things I was wondering about our trucks...

1. What are a few respectable brands for chips/programmers, and which is better for the results if I was some more ponies from my 5.9?

2. What are some good, deep, kinda throaty exhaust setups? (I've heard good things about Flowmaster 44's.)

3. Lastly, how do I take this damn door panel off to swap my front speakers?

(If you guys have a writeup on the head unit, front, and rear speaker replacment that would same me so many headaches.)

Old 06-01-2010, 01:44 PM
J McWillis
Professional

Welcome to the forum. Sweet lookin truck you got there.
For the door panel, there is a screw in the upper handle by the window/lock switches. take it out, then take the handle out. take the screw by the mirror controls out, then what I do is usually take a flathead screwdriver or similar and start up by the lock and carefully pop the plastic retainer clips out of the door itself, they run down both sides and along the bottom. be careful with this though, as the clips may have been in since the factory and are likely to break. then you can just wiggle the panel up and off once it's loose. i usually have to pull up on the release lever to get it out of the panel.

Last edited by J McWillis; 06-01-2010 at 02:01 PM.
Old 06-01-2010, 01:48 PM