replaced heater core, now the gear selector in the gauge cluster doesnt work... - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > replaced heater core, now the gear selector in the gauge cluster doesnt work...
Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

replaced heater core, now the gear selector in the gauge cluster doesnt work...

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 10:30 PM
redneck_ram's Avatar
redneck_ram
redneck_ram is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 4,077
Default replaced heater core, now the gear selector in the gauge cluster doesnt work...

hey guys. the gear selector in my gauge cluster doesnt work now. it looks as though the black piece that the cable is connected to came out of the steerig column. how do i get it back in and my selector working again? ill try to upload pics in the morning so you have an idea of what im talking about. TIA.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2010, 10:59 PM
jswain
jswain is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 430
Default

Originally Posted by redneck_ram View Post
hey guys. the gear selector in my gauge cluster doesnt work now. it looks as though the black piece that the cable is connected to came out of the steerig column. how do i get it back in and my selector working again? ill try to upload pics in the morning so you have an idea of what im talking about. TIA.
Is the black piece connected to a thin metal cable? That's how I remember it anyway. I believe the plastic piece is a clip that just snaps into place on the column. Seems like you have to squeeze it to get it to snap back into place, has been awhile since I was under there, but yeah I remember fumbling around with that thing.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2010, 11:34 PM
BlueBeast2's Avatar
BlueBeast2
BlueBeast2 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Parkesburg, PA
Posts: 2,949
Default

did you hook it back up?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:10 AM
redneck_ram's Avatar
redneck_ram
redneck_ram is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 4,077
Default

i never disconnected it. i just dropped the column, and when i bolted the column back up it didnt work. it doesnt matter if it works or not, but if i ever sell it i would like it to be working. plus its a little bit annoying considering when youre in any gear it says your in park.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:41 AM
BlueBeast2's Avatar
BlueBeast2
BlueBeast2 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Parkesburg, PA
Posts: 2,949
Default

Double check that the wire attached to the column didn't pop off. When I was doing my dash I didn't notice it and it poped off. I was scared I broke the damn thing cause it's only plastic. I'll check and see if I have any pics of where I'm talking about
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2010, 05:58 AM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

You are suppose to disconnect the cable before dropping the column.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2010, 07:29 AM
redneck_ram's Avatar
redneck_ram
redneck_ram is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 4,077
Default

Originally Posted by zman17 View Post
You are suppose to disconnect the cable before dropping the column.
yeah i kinda figured after i put it all back together. i know that now, lol. good new is the truck has better heat now, than when i bought the truck.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2010, 10:05 AM
BlueBeast2's Avatar
BlueBeast2
BlueBeast2 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Parkesburg, PA
Posts: 2,949
Default

Did you figure it out?
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2010, 10:30 AM
redneck_ram's Avatar
redneck_ram
redneck_ram is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 4,077
Default

no i was talking about getting the dash put all back together. i havent touched the truck since yesterday afternoon
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2010, 11:20 AM
unsivil_audio
unsivil_audio is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Somebody fill me in because I have the same problem (except I don't see it selecting any gear, not even park). I bought the truck this way; the gear selector on the dash isnt there. What am I looking for to fix it? Its a cable? And what needs to be taken off to fix it?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
john_2216
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
11-09-2015 09:42 PM
SteveTangential
1st Gen Ram Tech
4
09-10-2015 10:38 AM
studders
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
07-08-2015 07:14 AM
mp2000
Dodge Caravan
0
07-07-2015 01:25 AM
tracyballard
Dodge Caravan
0
07-04-2015 02:00 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.