2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

'94 with a Rough Idle

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2010, 11:30 PM
grox
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '94 with a Rough Idle

Well, like it says, the truck has a rough idle that seems worse after long highway drives. By rough idle, I mean that it "shudders." It also will start shaking when under load in OD. Runs great through the RPMs though.
The plugs, cap, and rotor have 30k miles. Pulled a couple plugs (Bosch single platinums) and they look clean, maybe a bit hot, but still good. The wires are MOPAR and have unknown miles on them, but they are flexible and not damaged.
There are 50K miles on a Bosch O2 sensor.

Generally rough conditions are caused by a misfire, but being a college student, I don't want to just throw money at it. Any ideas on narrowing it down?

Old 12-20-2010, 11:47 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,390 Likes on 3,130 Posts

Have you fixed your plenum yet? Any oil consumption?

Check the cap and rotor. Getting to be about time for them to be changed.

Check the plugs in 7 and 8. Are they oil fouled at all? (ash deposits.)

Old 12-20-2010, 11:54 PM
DukesOfHazzard
Record Breaker

so hot plugs look like they are brand new out of the box "white" color ( not golden brownish as they should) ?

Old 12-21-2010, 12:03 AM
grox
Veteran

I pulled #7. The plugs are halfway golden but have a small amount of white deposits.
The plenum gasket was replaced by a shop by the previous owner (keeping the steel pan), but the truck doesn't use any oil and the plugs aren't carboned up, so I figure that it's alright.
Unfortunately, since it's an OBDI, the computer is pretty useless for diagnosis.