Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

End-all Be-all plenum thread

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

End-all Be-all plenum thread

  #11  
Old 04-06-2011, 05:13 PM
Saber6's Avatar
Saber6
Saber6 is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mad,
I didn't see anyone else mention it thus far. Perhaps you want to add the "magnet on a stick" check. If your plenum has been replaced with the popular aluminum part, a magnet will not stick to it. If the magnet sticks, it's probably the OEM part.

I like those flexible reaching tools with the magnet on the end. You know the one, the one you reach for when you drop that socket into a tight space and you can't get your fingers in the space to retrieve it.
 
  #12  
Old 04-07-2011, 09:34 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

here's a lot of pictures, parts list, and cost.
+1 on the long stick magnet to check whether your plate is oem steel or aftermarket aluminum. oh wait, i might have been the one to think of that. lol. damn good idea.

https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen...ater-pump.html
 
  #13  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:49 PM
Mad_Scientist's Avatar
Mad_Scientist
Mad_Scientist is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE Tx
Posts: 632
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dhvaughan View Post
here's a lot of pictures, parts list, and cost.
+1 on the long stick magnet to check whether your plate is oem steel or aftermarket aluminum. oh wait, i might have been the one to think of that. lol.
If you wouldn't mind elaborating on this^^ a bit, I dont mind adding you to the credits for it.

Added the link and major props to OP
 
  #14  
Old 04-08-2011, 12:07 AM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

remove air filter and open the throttle plate. stick a magnet like this down through the throttle body to the plenum plate. if it sticks - then you have the original steel plate - and you need to replace it. if it doesn't stick, then you already have an aluminum plate, and its likely not leaking.

http://www.amazon.com/5Lb-Black-Tele.../dp/B0037ZJQP0
 
  #15  
Old 04-11-2011, 01:38 AM
avpaulb2
avpaulb2 is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

@Purple... my computer has probably lost its mind... can't jump to your product links for the above parts.

Can you post just the part numbers?
 
  #16  
Old 04-11-2011, 01:44 AM
Mad_Scientist's Avatar
Mad_Scientist
Mad_Scientist is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE Tx
Posts: 632
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by avpaulb2 View Post
@Purple... my computer has probably lost its mind... can't jump to your product links for the above parts.

Can you post just the part numbers?
I had the same problem, that's why I didn't amend the OP to include the links. you may have to go to the websites mentioned and search for the parts in question.
 
  #17  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:55 AM
PurplDodge's Avatar
PurplDodge
PurplDodge is offline
Legend
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Your computer isnt crazy. Those links are old. I'll fix it later. I've gotta go!
 
  #18  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:09 AM
Seth_787446
Seth_787446 is offline
Professional
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southport
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yesterday I found out that my plate is original, going to end up replacing, just out of curiosity, if you were to just replace the gasket and not the plate, how long would it be until the gasket fails again? I already got my plate from hughes.
 
  #19  
Old 04-11-2011, 09:37 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,683
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Seth_787446 View Post
Yesterday I found out that my plate is original, going to end up replacing, just out of curiosity, if you were to just replace the gasket and not the plate, how long would it be until the gasket fails again? I already got my plate from hughes.
If you already have the hughes plate, why wouldn't you install it???

Just replacing the gasket will guarantee you will get to do the job again, timing on that is variable though. If you replaced the gaskets, AND did something about the too-long bolts that hold it in place, it might be a permanent fix. Maybe.
 
  #20  
Old 04-11-2011, 10:08 AM
Seth_787446
Seth_787446 is offline
Professional
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southport
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No no, I am going to use the plate that I bought, I was just curious of have long the gasket would last if someone were to just replace it and not the plate, because I don't know when the previous owner fixed the gasket.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: End-all Be-all plenum thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: