shakes when accelerate/reverse - DodgeForum.com


Notices

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

shakes when accelerate/reverse

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-04-2011, 04:23 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default shakes when accelerate/reverse

problem.....
started my truck, put in reverse to back out of driveway, and when i pushed the pedal to give it some gas, the truck started to shake, like (in a front to back motion).... wtf??? does it in drive too.. too scared to drive it now.. and i have to take my girlfriend home and i have to go to practice. help!

EDIT: i also don't have all the power im supposed to..

Last edited by tatitup8; 08-05-2011 at 11:58 AM. Reason: erase
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2011, 04:34 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

Delete

Last edited by tatitup8; 08-05-2011 at 11:59 AM. Reason: remove
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2011, 04:59 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

Jus drove around block, when not accelerating oil pressure is fine, when accelerating the pressure goes up. ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:25 PM
Brent Jones
Brent Jones is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Its normal for your oil pressure to go up when you accelerate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:30 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

Drastically and drops when I let off the pedal?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:10 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

3 people said its prolly the transmission
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:22 PM
aim4squirrels's Avatar
aim4squirrels
aim4squirrels is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 7,844
Default

How drastically do the RPM's rev when you push it?

A general rule of thumb is 10psi oil pressure for every 1000RPMs. That isn't an exact figure, so don't go quoting it as scripture, but the oil pump is driven by the camshaft, so the faster then engine goes, that faster the oil pump pushes oil. Are you traveling outside of the normal range of the oil pressure on your dash gauge? If it's in the normal range, don't go looking for a problem that isn't there.

Your transmission could be taking a dump, but you could have other issues like torque converter drain back, or a loose band that needs adjusting. I believe 1st and reverse are controlled by the same transmission band.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2011, 12:01 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aim4squirrels View Post
How drastically do the RPM's rev when you push it?

A general rule of thumb is 10psi oil pressure for every 1000RPMs. That isn't an exact figure, so don't go quoting it as scripture, but the oil pump is driven by the camshaft, so the faster then engine goes, that faster the oil pump pushes oil. Are you traveling outside of the normal range of the oil pressure on your dash gauge? If it's in the normal range, don't go looking for a problem that isn't there.

Your transmission could be taking a dump, but you could have other issues like torque converter drain back, or a loose band that needs adjusting. I believe 1st and reverse are controlled by the same transmission band.
ok, oil thing is fine.. i tuned truck to 93 octane the day before this started happening.. i had full tank of supreme (93) so i dont think this is the problem..

it also shakes when i change to 2nd gear or downshift from second. and shakes pretty bad when i push the pedal in to about idle speed
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2011, 12:42 PM
aim4squirrels's Avatar
aim4squirrels
aim4squirrels is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 7,844
Default

Did you happen to do any engine work?


If you did, Check the easy stuff like plug wires firmly on contacts and on the correct tower on the cap.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2011, 01:44 PM
tatitup8's Avatar
tatitup8
tatitup8 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 338
Default

I did the plenum about a month ago, changes plugs wires and tstat.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
flyingwalrus
2nd Gen Neon
13
10-06-2015 01:31 PM
cqueen
2nd Gen Ram Tech
8
09-25-2015 06:42 PM
BJT
3rd Gen Ram Tech
10
09-01-2015 04:03 PM
Wascopete
3rd Gen Ram Tech
3
08-14-2015 01:14 PM
Imhalfdead
3rd Gen Ram Tech
4
07-15-2015 08:33 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 PM.