2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Rebuilding a 46RE - What to look out for?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2012, 11:25 AM
never0101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Rebuilding a 46RE - What to look out for?

I'm pawing through the FAQ thread about rebuilding this trans. I'm a tech at a chevy dealer, and have one of our (gm at least) tranny experts going through it with me (parts are different, but the theory is all the same). The trans is out of a 2001 Ram with a 5.2 and around 109k.

Guess I'm just looking for some tips of parts to upgrade and look out for specifically. We've thrown a governer code (i belive it was 1762..) as well as the TCC Boost valve cover broke. (i found the spring, and pieces of the cover, couldnt find the valve. Also upon pulling the valve body down, there was a ugly section of what appears to be part of a snap ring, from somewhere. The trans will be coming out of the truck monday after work, and completely torn down Tuesday. Since i'll be in there, what are some upgrades over stock that wont break the bank but will help reliability? Other common failure areas that I might be able to prevent with a fix now instead of waiting for a break down the road? Thanks for any help! (feel free to yell at me for not searching as well, because i didnt. )

Old 02-19-2012, 11:30 AM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Well search, in the FAQ section there is a thread called MonteC's transmission corner. In it you find a list of parts to upgrade.

Old 02-19-2012, 11:32 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,274 Likes on 3,021 Posts

List is on page six of Monte's thread. The recommendations were for a member that regularly towed a 7K pound trailer. Go by that build, and you should be golden.

Old 02-19-2012, 11:41 AM