2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Did the huges plenum repair, now I have more problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2013, 04:09 PM
RamIt4792
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Did the huges plenum repair, now I have more problems

It all started yesterday I was on way home then check engine light was flashing so i took it to a shop and had it scanned and there was a misfire on 1 and 8. I knew the plenum was bad so I had the hughes plenum repair and we put it in yesterday. Went to start it, it ran and idled fine but I have a bunch of problems such as if I floor the gas pedal it almost dies, the gas pedal is stiff, as soon as you hit the breaks it stops you quickly, and it just doesnt seem to have the power it did before. I work as a car detailer at a ford dealership and hooked it up to there computer diagnostic tool and no codes came up. Not sure on where to begin or if this has anything to do with putting the new intake gasket on or the new plenum. i have the intake bolts at 36ft lbs maybe thats the issue? idk where to go from here

Old 02-19-2013, 04:19 PM
Matt Nickerson
Record Breaker

Do you have the firing order correct? 1 and 8 are right next to each other, you may have switched wires at distributor. Stiff gas pedal probably means you messed up the throttle cable, make sure nothing is binding up.

Why are your intake bolts torqued so tight? Thats obviously not good.
Intake bolts should be like this
torque bolts 1 through 4 to 72 inch pounds 12 inch pounds at a time
torque bolts 5 through 12 to 72 inch pounds 12 inch pounds at a time
torque all bolts to 72 inch pounds
torque all bolts in sequence to 12 foot pounds
torque all bolts in sequence to 12 foot pounds

Old 02-19-2013, 04:26 PM
RamIt4792
Rookie