01 to 97 motor swap question - DodgeForum.com


Notices

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

01 to 97 motor swap question

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-01-2013, 11:35 AM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default 01 to 97 motor swap question

motor is in,trying to get wiring done its a lot different my problem now is can't figure out where camshaft sensor/pick up stator plugs into anyone got a idea,its a 97 sst im working on
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:22 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

The cam shaft sensor plugs into the wire harness running along side the driver side valve cover, the harness under the injectors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:38 PM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

exactly where it was on my 01 ram,but harness is different on the 97 crank and oil pressure are there(different) but no cam sensor plug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:40 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,454
Default

It should be around in that neighborhood....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:52 PM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

man i wish it was,i was thinking maybe 97 had different plug or something there are a couple 2 wire plugs there not used yet,but no unused3 wire plugs i will be working on it again after work hopefully someone here can figure this out
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:23 PM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

still no luck had a 98 to compare and it was like my 01 nothing like my 97 no cut wires or missing any from main harness still taped from factory together can't figure this out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2013, 10:38 PM
merc225hp's Avatar
merc225hp
merc225hp is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,664
Default

I think you need to get a pickup for a 97 motor. Rockauto has different part numbers for the years, so maybe a different plug end.

Last edited by merc225hp; 06-01-2013 at 10:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2013, 12:02 AM
QuadCabLuv
QuadCabLuv is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,585
Default

They are. If I had known the year models before I wouldve said something. The plugs on alot of things changed in 98.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2013, 08:02 AM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

ok thanks guys,much appreciated,going by parts store hopefully don't have to be ordered
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2013, 08:15 AM
blazer01
blazer01 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

is there a fuse for the obd port no power getting there

Last edited by blazer01; 06-02-2013 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ice_angels7
2nd Gen Neon
4
09-08-2015 04:22 PM
drtydn
2nd Gen Ram Tech
13
07-25-2015 11:49 AM
Deerhunter90
1st Gen Dakota
1
07-16-2015 02:12 PM
Stone007
1st Gen Ram Tech
3
07-10-2015 08:10 PM
firedawg50
2nd Gen Ram Tech
1
07-05-2015 02:03 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.