2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Ball joints 01 4x4 offroad model

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2014, 05:32 PM
Purp
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ball joints 01 4x4 offroad model

Hey,

I am getting ready to order all 4 ball joints and, hopefully, do this job myself since I don't have $1000+ to spare to have some shop do it, instead. I have searched the forums, btw. Just looking for experienced opinions.

I tend to get my parts from Rockauto. My questions are.....1) Does anyone have any experience with Raybestos balljoints vs. Moog? I'm planning on buying the Raybestos ones part #s Upper 5001058 Lower 5051289 I don't have the Moog #s.

2) Am I gonna run into any surprises unique to my truck? (truck info below)

Any advice or time-saving tricks appreciated. I'm no mechanic, but I don't mind working on stuff as long as I can get the right tools.

Truck info: 2001 Dodge Ram offroad version--pretty much stock right now, but plan on making some changes when time and money allow.

Old 06-25-2014, 05:45 PM
Ham Bone
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

get the moog ball joints. They are there. Or well they should be there somewhere

Old 06-25-2014, 08:38 PM
JSTMoto
Veteran

If you go Moog, go with the problem solver series.....

I've found you can get the part # from the mfg's site (Moog in this case), and simply search RockAuto for the part numbers. Worked for me before. And don't forget to use an extra 5% off referral code...

That said, I haven't heard bad things from Raybestos either.