Tcase noise and no 4wd - DodgeForum.com


Notices

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Tcase noise and no 4wd

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-12-2014, 12:48 PM
kgilhooley31
kgilhooley31 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Deland, Fl
Posts: 154
Default Tcase noise and no 4wd

My transfer case is making this ticking every rotation going down the road as I slow down ticking slows down and as I speed up it does as well. My front driveshaft locks to the tcase and rotates with the back, but is not locking the front axel stuff. There is only suction on one line going to the two metal vacuum lines which go to the front actuator. Any is something wrong in the tcase vacuum stuff, and not sending the right vacuum to the front? Cause only one of the 4 hole connectors has suction when you pull it off the transfer case. That's in all positions with the truck running
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2014, 04:42 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,454
Default

One line is vacuum supply, two others run off to the front axle, fourth one is a vent. Vacuum on one at the connector is correct. Vacuum at one line at the CAD is correct, shifting into a different drive mode (2>4 or 4>2 wd...) should make the vacuum switch to the OTHER line. Outboard in 2, inboard in 4.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:40 PM
kgilhooley31
kgilhooley31 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Deland, Fl
Posts: 154
Default

to test the actuator can i route vacuum directly to the metal lines leading to the actuator? So in 4hi it would need to be to only one of them, and in 4low it would need to be forked to both lines?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:56 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 454
Default

One line or the other should have vacuum on the CAD when ever the engine is running. One line moves the forks one way to slide the forks and link the passenger side axle together (4 wheel drive). The other line slides the forks the other way to disengage the axle (2 wheel drive).

If you have vacuum to the same line on the front end regardless of whether you're in 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive then the switch on the transfer case is probably gummed up or just bad.

If you have no vacuum to the front end start tracing the lines back to the transfer case. Be careful with the plastic lines as they will probably be brittle. If they check out then it is possibly the switch, since you have vacuum that far.

I have heard of the vacuum switch being cleaned and made functional again, but they normally don't last long before they're acting up again. Hope some of this helps you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2014, 07:31 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,454
Default

vacuum is to engage the front axle, that's it. T-case handles gear ranges. Have a look here.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
barra340
1995-2000 Dodge Avenger
1
10-04-2015 09:27 PM
dean98ram1500
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
09-15-2015 08:01 PM
joshhassler01
2nd Gen Ram Tech
3
09-05-2015 10:34 AM
IHfarmer3339
2nd Gen Ram Tech
1
09-02-2015 08:01 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.