2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

What to know on a 2ND gen?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2017, 01:47 PM
ArkMaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to know on a 2ND gen?

Hi everyone. I am looking to get a truck and have found a 2001 1500, 5.2, 5spd manual. It has 109,000 miles and they are asking $7,900. It has next to no rust, is super clean, and has pretty low miles. It was owned by an older man who traded it in to the dealership, who I am now thinking of taking it from.
so here's my question; what do I need to look at in this truck to make sure it's good? Is this a good deal? What are some major problems? I come from a line of bowtie lovers, so the family is telling me it's crap. What do y'all think?

ps. I'm a pretty good mechanic, so minor issues aren't a major turn off for me.

thanks!!

Old 05-27-2017, 07:02 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,178 Likes on 2,931 Posts

Welcome to DF!

The only other things aside from what you would usually look at on any used vehicle, would be the plenum, (see sticky thread at top of this forum) and maybe test for timing chain stretch. If it runs/drives good, you may be ok, but, 7900 seems awfully steep to me..... Where are you at? (zip code.)

Old 05-27-2017, 07:56 PM
ArkMaster

Thanks for the info!! I'm in the 37664 area, east Tennessee. Everyone here thinks if it has a bed and for wheels, it worth it's weight in gold.

Old 05-27-2017, 08:34 PM
HeyYou
Administrator

Just think what they would want if it was a diesel. Ouchie......

Might wanna go to NADA.org, and see what they think its worth...... I see trucks of that nature around here for under 4 grand on a regular basis. Granted, I live right smack in the rust belt.......

Old 05-28-2017, 08:50 AM
Moparite
Grand Champion