2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

an ATTEMPT to document lube spots on 2nd gen 4wd - photos and diagrams

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2017, 11:11 AM
rayaa3
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default an ATTEMPT to document lube spots on 2nd gen 4wd - photos and diagrams

So one of my next items of for business was figuring out the lube points under the truck which need regular attention.

I found a lot of information about locations of grease fittings (and some areas without fittings). Some of it I understood, some of it I didn't. So I wanted to document what I found with pictures and diagrams, and if you can help me find other places to put grease, I'll document those as well.

So far I have found 5 grease fittings in my front end. Being a novice I'm sure I'm not naming them the correct things. I've identified them using this diagram I borrowed from LMCTruck catalog and doctored with numbers...as well as some pictures. In my pictures don't mind any wetness you see, I had to go after these with a toothbrush and wd40 to get the crap off of them and identify they are zerk fittings. I haven't lubed anything yet though - more on that after the pics and diagram:

Photos in another post in a moment.

Old 11-10-2017, 11:16 AM
rayaa3
Professional

Numbers in pictures correspond to diagram above...

Zerk 1 Pitman Arm facing skyward
Zerk 2 above pumpkin facing groundward
Zerk 3 drivers side facing downward
Passenger side: Zerk 4 faces ground, Zerk 5 faces front of truck and slightly skyward.

Old 11-10-2017, 11:20 AM
rayaa3
Professional

OK, now that I have 5 of them documented. I understand there are up to 9 possible places I should be putting grease. Though I suspect at least some of them lack a zerk fitting, based on other posts.