46re problem - DodgeForum.com

Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

46re problem

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 01-11-2018, 04:41 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Default 46re problem

Hey folks. I'm having a little transmission shift problem. Its been going slowly into gear after I let off the gas. So I changed the filter and fluid plus adjusted the bands. Still not shifting correct. Then I unplugged the tranny. Manually it shifts 2 to 3 but no 1st or OD. I'm thinking electronics, solenoids and sensors. Thanks for y'alls input
Totally forgot 99 ram 1500 2 WD 46re
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:19 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 47,746
Default

With the trans unplugged, you won't get O/D, or TCC, that's normal. (as they are purely electronic) You should have the first three gears though.... if you don't, then the problem is mechanical.......
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:25 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
With the trans unplugged, you won't get O/D, or TCC, that's normal. (as they are purely electronic) You should have the first three gears though.... if you don't, then the problem is mechanical.......
Well that sucks!! So its not an electronic problem? Time for a rebuild or remanufactured
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:27 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 47,746
Default

Pretty much. Sorry man.

You could re-test, just to be sure.......
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:31 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Default

Could one of the bands be too tight?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:32 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 47,746
Default

That's possible......

Torque the adjuster to 72 INCH pounds, then back them off TWO turns. Ignore what the service manual says.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:53 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks HeyYou but that's exactly what I did when I adjusted the bands. I've got a reman on the way with a reman torque converter. All I need to do is flush the lines and install. For once I won't try rebuilding myself, should cost me less lol
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:55 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 47,746
Default

Well, one would hope that'll fix it.

Let us know how it goes. Where did you get your trans from?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
affdesco
Dodge Ram Van
0
05-19-2015 11:03 PM
WillyStreetDruid
1st Gen Dakota
1
02-09-2013 11:30 AM
WillyStreetDruid
2nd Gen Ram Tech
1
02-08-2013 01:08 PM
DL HOLLY
1st Gen Durango
3
09-15-2012 12:54 PM
jizza469
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
09-23-2011 04:40 AM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: