46re problem - DodgeForum.com

Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

46re problem

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-11-2018, 03:41 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default 46re problem

Hey folks. I'm having a little transmission shift problem. Its been going slowly into gear after I let off the gas. So I changed the filter and fluid plus adjusted the bands. Still not shifting correct. Then I unplugged the tranny. Manually it shifts 2 to 3 but no 1st or OD. I'm thinking electronics, solenoids and sensors. Thanks for y'alls input
Totally forgot 99 ram 1500 2 WD 46re
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:19 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 51,047
Default

With the trans unplugged, you won't get O/D, or TCC, that's normal. (as they are purely electronic) You should have the first three gears though.... if you don't, then the problem is mechanical.......
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:25 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
With the trans unplugged, you won't get O/D, or TCC, that's normal. (as they are purely electronic) You should have the first three gears though.... if you don't, then the problem is mechanical.......
Well that sucks!! So its not an electronic problem? Time for a rebuild or remanufactured
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:27 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 51,047
Default

Pretty much. Sorry man.

You could re-test, just to be sure.......
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:31 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Could one of the bands be too tight?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:32 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 51,047
Default

That's possible......

Torque the adjuster to 72 INCH pounds, then back them off TWO turns. Ignore what the service manual says.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:53 PM
TarheelDodge
TarheelDodge is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks HeyYou but that's exactly what I did when I adjusted the bands. I've got a reman on the way with a reman torque converter. All I need to do is flush the lines and install. For once I won't try rebuilding myself, should cost me less lol
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:55 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 51,047
Default

Well, one would hope that'll fix it.

Let us know how it goes. Where did you get your trans from?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 46re problem


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: