Crankshaft Position Sensor Question - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

Crankshaft Position Sensor Question

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Crankshaft Position Sensor Question

  #1  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:48 AM
Chunx89
Chunx89 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Port Saint lucie
Posts: 85
Default Crankshaft Position Sensor Question

I changed out my cps while my truck was apart for body work and I used a duralast sensor. I recall seeing somewhere that you are only suppose to use the mopar brand sensor? Whatís happening is I have a weird grinding noise on start up when itís a cold start and itís coming from rear of engine by the duralast sensor, oil is new and the gauge goes right up to 50-60 after starting. Transmission fluid is fine also, it only does it on a cold start
 
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:03 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 55,275
Default

Pull the sensor, and see if it is getting chewed up. If it is, it will fail fairly quickly..... and then it stops running.

These trucks REALLY dislike aftermarket sensors in critical locations. Crank sensor is right at the top of that list. You can find OEM sensors online for less than what the dealer wants for them.... but, yeah, they are still more expensive than the aftermarket fellers. Thing is though, they actually WORK right..... The same cannot be said for a fair few of the aftermarket guys.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 06:41 PM
AtomicDog
AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,885
Default

Just FYI, I've had good luck with the crank sensor I purchased for my 5.9 gas motor at Advance Auto - it was a Borg Warner (BWD) sensor. In reading reviews for it, some folks have had issues with them which were corrected by using a factory MOPAR sensor. Since Advance Auto allows returns on electrical parts, I figured it was worth a chance...
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:07 PM
Moparite's Avatar
Moparite
Moparite is online now
Champion
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,892
Default

BWD = So once it fails you have to go threw the pain of removing it and putting in another turd. Spend the extra money and get mopar or delphi.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:42 PM
AtomicDog
AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,885
Default

Originally Posted by Moparite View Post
BWD = So once it fails you have to go threw the pain of removing it and putting in another turd. Spend the extra money and get mopar or delphi.
So far, its been fine after several years. If it fails, I'll certainly consider using the MOPAR version, but so far, it's been rock solid.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Crankshaft Position Sensor Question


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: