2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Big issues yall

  #1  
Old 02-11-2019, 05:18 PM
Chase Blasingame's Avatar
Chase Blasingame
Chase Blasingame is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default Big issues yall

Ok I have a 2001 Ram 1500 4x4 360 engine and am doing the 5 speed swap. I bought a harness and computer from a ebay sale along with gathering all the parts needed for this job. It's ll together now but the gauge say no bus for the manual computer. Checked all connections and cleaned them and made sure all was correct. Tried to plug the old automatic trans computer in and I no longer have a no bus code. It cranks but won't start gauge work I know hoe much fuel I have and all but won't start please help
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-2019, 10:38 AM
Ramman18's Avatar
Ramman18
Ramman18 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,205
Default

If the ebay pcm says no bus then it's probably bad.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-2019, 01:03 PM
MoparFanatic21
MoparFanatic21 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,135
Default

I agree with the above. "No Bus" usually means the PCM is bad
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:00 PM
Chase Blasingame's Avatar
Chase Blasingame
Chase Blasingame is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Looks like a bad crankshaft position sensor it's the correct part but the last one rubbed the flywheel going to try a new one and use a few washers to make a few spacers to see if I can clear it up if it's a bad pcm but I have the correct bin from that truck can I have a new one made
 
  #5  
Old 02-12-2019, 09:39 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,092
Default

Keep in mind the crank sensor is a hall effect switch. It has to be pretty close to the flywheel, in order to read properly.
 
  #6  
Old 02-13-2019, 09:21 AM
Chase Blasingame's Avatar
Chase Blasingame
Chase Blasingame is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

If i installed the flywheel backwards would it eat the section of the sensor out?
 
  #7  
Old 02-13-2019, 09:23 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,092
Default

Wow......

I am not sure that you CAN install it backwards..... The sensor is supposed to be just a couple millimeters away from the surface with the holes in it. The holes it what it reads. Looks like yours was actually contacting the flexplate.
 
  #8  
Old 02-15-2019, 04:51 PM
Chase Blasingame's Avatar
Chase Blasingame
Chase Blasingame is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Ok turns out the bolts holding the pressure plate were to long and contacting the crankshaft position sensor. After changing the bolts out and putting it all back together I am still getting a no bus 9n the dash but it cranks and runs now but it won't shut off from running like it should, it take a minute or so for the engine to stop all the negitive wires that I can find are grounded the engine the chassis and all are grounded all connections are in place right and clean what else do you suggest I try.
 
  #9  
Old 02-15-2019, 05:24 PM
MoparFanatic21
MoparFanatic21 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,135
Default

Originally Posted by Chase Blasingame View Post
Ok turns out the bolts holding the pressure plate were to long and contacting the crankshaft position sensor. After changing the bolts out and putting it all back together I am still getting a no bus 9n the dash but it cranks and runs now but it won't shut off from running like it should, it take a minute or so for the engine to stop all the negitive wires that I can find are grounded the engine the chassis and all are grounded all connections are in place right and clean what else do you suggest I try.
It'sa bad PCM 99% of the time
 
  #10  
Old 02-15-2019, 05:43 PM
Chase Blasingame's Avatar
Chase Blasingame
Chase Blasingame is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Ok where can I find a new pcm?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Big issues yall


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: