2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Jumpy tach, running rich

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2019, 05:35 PM
G. O. Mann
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Jumpy tach, running rich

I'm totally new to this but this may be my last resort. My 1998 Ram 2500 5.9 Magnum suddenly wouldn't start. After scanning codes, etc., I replaced the crankshaft position sensor, the camshaft position sensor, and the ignition coil. The camshaft position sensor was the last item changed and it was the one that fixed the no start condition. (The coil was rusty enough to have the laminations being pried apart by the rust, so I replaced it on general principles). However now my tach needle is jumping wildly, my scan tool says RPM's vary from a few hundred to 4400 or so randomly, and the engine is running so rich it quickly loads up and stalls. In the short time it will stay running it has not set another code, there is no fuel trim indicated, and what I can see of the parameters in my scan tool otherwise look normal. I've got a new battery and alternator (from a separate issue with dealing with the draw from my snowplow pump triggering a low voltage warning) so my system voltage is up to normal. I've disconnected the battery for half a minute or so to allow the computer to reset, all to no avail. Does it seem logical that the new cam position sensor is causing the jumpy tach, and at the same time overfueling the engine when the tach is saying "high rpms-more fuel" when the rpms are actually low? I hate to blame the cam position sensor, but it seems that it might be factory defective. Would the crank position sensor (new) also be able to produce these symptoms? Does this sound like anything anyone has had experience with? My scan tool won't read individual components on demand, so if there is any help