Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

Swapping a LA block into a 2nd gen

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Swapping a LA block into a 2nd gen

  #1  
Old 05-31-2019, 03:50 PM
Keifer25
Keifer25 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swapping a LA block into a 2nd gen

I have a 79 model 360 LA block and i have a 97 dodge 1500 witch has a 360 magnum in it. i was wondering if you could put the magnum heads on a LA block so i could run the fuel injection intake and keep most of the original wire harness in the 97. if there is an easier way minus running the Holly EFI unit. Please let me know.


Side note: the reason behind wanting to change the motor out is because the magnum motor is flat wore out. Has 250k+ on the motor. and the LA block is freshly built with a little more then stock.
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-2019, 06:58 PM
AtomicDog
AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,915
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Personally, I wouldn't do it. How about selling the '79 block and rebuilding the 360 magnum that you already have? You can also check to see if you can find a used 360 magnum off craigslist. I found a used 5.9 magnum out of a Dakota and swapped it into my '96 Ram. The magnum motor has a factory hydraulic roller cam, whereas the LA block does not.
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-2019, 08:33 PM
Moparite's Avatar
Moparite
Moparite is offline
Champion
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,065
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Even if you did this swap what would control the transmission? Find a replacement magnum!
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-2019, 08:53 PM
rebeltaz83's Avatar
rebeltaz83
rebeltaz83 is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: at home
Posts: 321
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

The motor mount provisions for the Magnum style mounts are not on the LA block. You'll have to fab up a different set of mounts, and you'll have to find a way to hold the crank sensor to the back of the block on the LA series. You'll have to swap the timing cover, and fab up brackets for the serpentine belt, the Magnum bracketry won't bolt to the LA heads, there is slight differences in bolt geometry.
 

Last edited by rebeltaz83; 05-31-2019 at 08:56 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:19 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,634
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

The LA block also oils the valve train in a completely different manner...... I think you would spend more money trying to get the LA block to work, than you would just buying another motor..... (even a rebuilt one.....)
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:40 PM
rollinlow's Avatar
rollinlow
rollinlow is offline
Professional
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

heads don't bolt up, so then you would lose the intake as well as fuel injection. then you would have to use a fuel regulator. all in the while losing computer. so put the la in a engine bag and find a rebuildable magnum and go ahead and order another set of heads lol
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Swapping a LA block into a 2nd gen


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: