2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

body swap?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2019, 11:21 PM
1974dodgeowner
Amateur
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default body swap?

I have a 1994 Dodge 1500 regular cab long bed two wheel drive. Body is in great shape.
A friend of mine has a 1996 dodge 1500 4x4 extended cab, short bed for sale for dirt cheap. Engines blown up.
As far as I can tell, the overall length is the same between to two trucks. I was wondering if it were possible to make my reg cab long bed body, fit the extended cab short bed frame.I assume the cab mounts would not be the same. But I am an accomplished welder. Have to cut a hole in the floor of my cab. Other then that what else would have to be done? Anyone out there crazy enough to have tried this? lol

The following users liked this post:
MoparFanatic21 (06-25-2019)
Old 06-25-2019, 12:22 AM
MoparFanatic21
Legend
Received 306 Likes on 298 Posts

Originally Posted by 1974dodgeowner
I have a 1994 Dodge 1500 regular cab long bed two wheel drive. Body is in great shape.
A friend of mine has a 1996 dodge 1500 4x4 extended cab, short bed for sale for dirt cheap. Engines blown up.
As far as I can tell, the overall length is the same between to two trucks. I was wondering if it were possible to make my reg cab long bed body, fit the extended cab short bed frame.I assume the cab mounts would not be the same. But I am an accomplished welder. Have to cut a hole in the floor of my cab. Other then that what else would have to be done? Anyone out there crazy enough to have tried this? lol
To my knowledge no one has tried it. I'm unsure of the lengths are the same, but they might being yours is a single cab. What I would do is just swap your motor into it.

Old 06-25-2019, 01:57 AM
1974dodgeowner
Amateur