2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Rear end bouncing after new shoes and drums

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2019, 06:55 PM
Chunx89
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear end bouncing after new shoes and drums

Well like the title says! Just put new shoes and drums on, this is my first time ever doing drums. Everything was great! Drove down the street no noise no grinding, came to the second stop sign and boom, the rear end is hopping up and down while I’m braking.

took the drum off and the shoes are facing right direction, longer shoe in rear and shorter shoe in the front. All springs and everything in tact. No idea what this could be!

Old 10-14-2019, 07:26 PM
ol' grouch
Champion
Received 593 Likes on 538 Posts

Originally Posted by Chunx89
Well like the title says! Just put new shoes and drums on, this is my first time ever doing drums. Everything was great! Drove down the street no noise no grinding, came to the second stop sign and boom, the rear end is hopping up and down while I’m braking.

took the drum off and the shoes are facing right direction, longer shoe in rear and shorter shoe in the front. All springs and everything in tact. No idea what this could be!

Was it axle hop or the suspension cycling? I assume your shock absorbers are up to snuff.

Old 10-14-2019, 08:19 PM
Chunx89
Professional

Originally Posted by ol' grouch
Was it axle hop or the suspension cycling? I assume your shock absorbers are up to snuff.
im unsure, I never had this until replacing the brakes. If I brake soft it won’t do it, but if I brake even a little hard the back tires start bouncing off the ground. My buddy says the tires are bouncing when I brake he sees them bouncing from my driveway

Old 10-14-2019, 08:52 PM
ol' grouch
Champion