2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

99 -shudders around 45-55, lots of white smoke, no CEL

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2020, 04:35 PM
JesBrum56
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 -shudders around 45-55, lots of white smoke, no CEL

Hello. I'm a newbie. My beloved truck is having some problems. I've perused other similar threads and downloaded the manual as suggested by admin. Lots of abbreviations and stuff that were way above my pay grade and caused a headache. Could some compassionate soul dumb down possible solutions to my issues?
I have lots of white smoke. Used to be always sweet but now it sometimes smells burned. Not really losing coolant. No bubbles or anything. I did use k seal and other coolant and oil add ons from Wally world hoping for a quick fix. Not my luck. Losing oil but don't see any in the driveway?! No crazy looking things there either. The is a considerable amount of smoke. I just go faster and out run the cloud but when I get to a red light it catches up. And I feel kinda bad for the person behind me.
The shuddering is around approx 45-55mph area. Goes away when I turn OD off. But you can feel that it really wants to shudder as soon as I press that button again.
Things that have been done:
New thermostat, oil and filter, all the filters, plugs, wires and cap (pretty sure wires are not crossed). Got a hole drilled in the cat, did some fuel injector cleaner. There's some other stuff they did that I'll probably remember if someone suggests it to me. "They" are a few shade tree mechanics offering to help this broke azz nurse get to and from her patients on a daily basis and me. I'm a certified youtube dodge mechanic. So, if I haven't chased all the knowledgeable folks away...what are your suggestions