2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Scanning for Cruise Control Issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2023, 07:59 PM
jlc
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scanning for Cruise Control Issues

Hi, I am a newbie here but I have had my 2001 Ram 2500 for over 20 years and have done the majority of my own maintenance and repairs on it. I have the cruise control not setting issue and I have checked the normal trouble spots and have not found any problems. I have no trouble codes shown. It is not the clock spring as the instrument panel shows the cruise control indication on and off with switch activation. All vacuum lines are fine. As I will have to pay for a scan, what real time data is available from the scan? Can the scan show cruise control switch activation and PCM output? Since Ram no longer has parts available for the cruise control system, I must find them in the recycle yards and thus I want to know what I have to find before I go foraging.

Any information on the scanning process for this problem is greatly appreciated!

Thanks much,

John

Old 06-20-2023, 08:35 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

did you check for vacuum at the servo? i would likely look at the cruise control servo after that. could be a sticking diaphragm. pretty sure you should be able to test it by applying power to 3, then ground terminal 4 and 1. you should be able to do this with the truck off is the vacuum system is working as it should.

Old 06-20-2023, 09:52 PM
DerTruck
All Star
Received 103 Likes on 98 Posts