3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Tonneau or Shell? Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 02:10 PM
CalTruck
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tonneau or Shell? Help

Hey Gang - I'm new to the forum. I just recently bought an '06 Dakota V8 Magnum Quad Cab, and I'm lovin' it. I have been lurking and reading and finding some great information.

My delima... I have a family with two boys and forever we have had a Dodge Grand Caravan. Well it was time for dad to get back into a truck and the Quad Cab just made sense. I love the room inside for the family. I'm also a drummer and I have to be able to carry my gear to and from gigs and rehearsals. The van offered my gear the protection since it was always inside the van.

So... now I am faced with either adding a tonneau cover or a cab high shell. All of my gear will fit inside/under the tonneau cover except my bass drum, which I would have to put in the seat behind me in the cab. That is all well and good as long as I don't need the space for four passengers (which 90% of the time I don't). I also really like the truck look without the shell.

The other option is the shell. I would never have to put my gear in the front of the cab. We would also have space for extra gear when we go camping. We don't go camping that often, but now that we have a truck, I'm thinking about getting some kind of camping trailer (tent trailer???).

The other cool thing about the tonneau is that it can fairly easily be removed when I do want to carry anything larger in the back of the truck. The removal of the shell isn't quite as easy.

So, if anyone has any opinions or experiences, I'd love to hear them.

Old 04-07-2007, 02:20 PM
Frenchy
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Tonneau or Shell? Help

I'd say for your dilemma, and requirements, and safety. Get a locking fiberglass lid.