3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Yes, I am a Dodge noob with a ???.

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2007 | 12:03 PM
daary
Default Yes, I am a Dodge noob with a ???.

My apologies up front for such a noob question. I found this forum and there is a plethora of information, and for that I thank everyone in assisting with my education. I have been searching throughout the motor for the PCV on my '06 Dakota 4.7 SLT. The manuals show it being on the side of the oil filler (thank you for the manual / link, much appreciated) but it is not there, running my hand all the way down the filler, nada. Has anyone found it on this vehicle? I purchase mine with a 5 year extended warranty (was a used vehicle with 34K miles on it (rental) which was being sold as "Certified", but now I am doubting that they did the maint on it as per the schedule), so currently it is at the shop (after 2 weeks of ownership) whereas the Actron CP9185 showed the timing all over the place at idle, and when it attempted to die on me yesterday, then when revving the motor in neutralto 3500 it shook like a wet dog, it needs some attention.

Anyhow, I plan on changing the plugs this weekend, trying to find the PCV to make sure it is "fresh" as well, but cannot find it. Any assistance in locating it would be greatly, and I mean GREATLY, appreciated. I have looked all over the valve covers, the oil filler, and traced all hoses to attempt to find it, did not want to ask without doing my part first.

Thanks in advance, and again, sorry for the nooblet question.
Darrell

Old 10-09-2007 | 12:08 PM
daary
Default RE: Yes, I am a Dodge noob with a ???.