3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

New to Dakotas, new to the forum.

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2009, 11:41 PM
Southbound
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Dakotas, new to the forum.

Hi everyone,

You all seem like a nice helpful group of Dakota owners so I think I'm in the right place. Like I said I'm new to trucks and will try to lend a hand when I can.

Right now though my question is regarding fuel economy and what you guys do to improve yours.

I bought my 05 Dakota used with 97,000kms on it but it rides like a dream. My only complaint is that I filled up to full from half and it cost $45 CAD. That was yesterday. I've already gone through 1/4 of the tank just driving around town.

Any hints you guys have would be great! Thanks!

Old 10-26-2009, 12:04 AM
Southbound
Rookie

Sorry, this is me.

Old 10-26-2009, 12:28 AM
Frenchy
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Uhmmm, I switched to all synthetic fluids, have CAI, exhaust, eFan, and power wire, as my main mods, I get on average 22mpg on the highway at 63mph, and about 17mpg in town.

I've got a 8cyl with a 6speed and 4wd.

Also, I found out that driving in hilly towns REALLY kills the mileage in these trucks. I know it sounds like a DUH thing to say, but where I live now, is all flat, and I get 17mpg in town, at my college, it's ALL hills, and I'm talking, 20-35% inclines, and I get about 12mpg there in town.

Old 10-26-2009, 12:33 AM
Southbound
Rookie

Originally Posted by Frenchy
at my college, it's ALL hills, and I'm talking, 20-35% inclines, and I get about 12mpg there in town.
12, jeez.

I'm getting about 17 now too, but I'll definitely look into switching up my fluids and exhaust.

Old 10-26-2009, 12:48 AM
Southbound
Rookie

Anyone heard of this Fitch Fuel Catalyst? Says it improves up to 1 - 2.5 mpg among other things.

http://www.autoanything.com/fuel-sys...A4162A0A0.aspx

Old 10-26-2009, 11:07 AM
Q-TIP