Reset Computer - DodgeForum.com


Notices

3rd Gen Dakota 2005+ Dakota's

Reset Computer

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:38 PM
DODGEdak18
DODGEdak18 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Default Reset Computer

how do i totally reset my computer. disconnecting the battery isn't working cause all my presets for my radio stay on. i am trying to get my airbag lights to go off. as some no i got new seats and the lights are on now and they were not before. please help thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:47 PM
Eimer123's Avatar
Eimer123
Eimer123 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Noblesville Indiana
Posts: 1,982
Default

The radio has a built in battery that holds your settings. Resetting the PCM will not reset the radio presets.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:13 PM
DODGEdak18
DODGEdak18 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Default

will it reset my airbag lights to make them go off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:12 PM
superdak05's Avatar
superdak05
superdak05 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ct.
Posts: 4,584
Default

to reset your computer, you need to remove the neg, battery cable for a few minutes. when reconnecting if the lights dont go off, than you need dodge to wipe the pcm clean an reinstall the software, my truck was 90.00.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:28 PM
00dakSport's Avatar
00dakSport
00dakSport is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: long island, NY
Posts: 894
Default

i got a dif year but when i reset mine i left it unlpugged for 24 hrs.
overnight is probally enough tho.
this cleared my cel should work for the airbag light.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:55 PM
dingdong2's Avatar
dingdong2
dingdong2 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 166
Smile OBDII scanner

I bought a USB OBDII scanner on eBay several years ago. I haven't tried it on my Dakota yet but I was able to reset the computer in my Contour (which came in use everytime I needed an e-check ). It was $60 then and I think they have gone down in price since then.

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw=OBD....c0.m270.l1313

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00dakSport View Post
i got a dif year but when i reset mine i left it unlpugged for 24 hrs.
overnight is probally enough tho.
this cleared my cel should work for the airbag light.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2010, 05:56 PM
NJJer
NJJer is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DODGEdak18 View Post
how do i totally reset my computer. disconnecting the battery isn't working cause all my presets for my radio stay on. i am trying to get my airbag lights to go off. as some no i got new seats and the lights are on now and they were not before. please help thank you.
Are you the one with the new leather seats and having trouble with the airbag light? If so, I already told you in that post how to clear the ECU.

Disconnect the positive battery cable from the battery,
ground the cable end for 30 seconds,
reconnect,
turn key to ON position,
wait for fuel pump to stop pumping,
start truck.




This is the ONLY way to completely clear the ECU. Any other way does not discharge the capacitors in it. Dealers do it this way, atleast the Techs that know about it. They won't tell you though, I will and did, as I am no longer a Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 07:50 PM
ericemery
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I reset my computer, I pull my neg cable for 30 minutes. ground it out for a few seconds to the chasis, then while still disconnected, I get in and turn the key to run for 2 or 3 minutes.

After that, i hook it back up and turn the key forward till the fuel pump primes the system. start it up and let it run for 15 minutes or so...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:25 PM
DODGEdak18
DODGEdak18 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Default

This might sound dump but how do you ground the positive when the cable isnt long enough?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:13 AM
lghtngblt02's Avatar
lghtngblt02
lghtngblt02 is offline
The RAM Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Posts: 9,583
Default

It should be long enough to touch the fender... hell I have heard ppl pulling both postive and negative and touching them together... it all works the same...
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
drewus
2nd Gen Durango
3
12-01-2015 12:27 AM
ggreekggod
Dodge Stratus
15
10-14-2015 11:25 AM
jh360
2nd Gen Ram Tech
10
09-28-2015 07:53 PM
midnightdweller1
Dodge Stratus
4
09-16-2015 08:55 PM
Brad Russell
3rd Gen Dakota
3
09-09-2015 03:36 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.