3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Rubbing / Vibration when applying brakes

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 12:42 PM
hanslamontagne
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rubbing / Vibration when applying brakes

So, I just bought a used '06 Dakota, it had an inspection done and buddy said there was still 50%-75% brake life remaining. Well about a week into driving it this horrible rubbing/sqeaking sound started when applying the brakes. It sounds like it's coming from the front, but I can't be positive as I'm always driving when it happens.

I took a look at the pads and they look about 50% worn so I am unsure what it could be. It seems to get worse after it rains or if it's extremely dry/dusty.

I plan on putting it up on the hoist this weekend but since I am new to the dodge world I wanted to know if this is a typical problem.

Thanks guys!

Hanzo

Old 06-11-2013, 05:11 PM
muddinbill
Rookie

does it sound like a grinding? have you checked the drums? Have you used your E-brake recently? I have had the drums on both of my dakota's I have owned lock up on me on the highway before because they were seized from using an e-brake that was previously hardly ever used.

Old 06-11-2013, 07:20 PM
hanslamontagne

Actually, grinding isn't really the word I'd use to describe this noise. It actually sounds like a rubbing, and it speeds up/slows down with my speed as I apply the brake. I'm almost wondering if there is something wedged in between the pad and the rotor. I haven't checked the rear drums yet, no. It's an automatic so I haven't used my e-brake ever.

It started up after about a week straight of rain, if it possible for debris to get gummed up in caliper/pad region?

Old 06-11-2013, 07:46 PM
Alfons
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts