3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Finding the Mic Plug, UConnect Mirror

Old 11-26-2016, 09:03 AM
philipat
Veteran
Received 48 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Finding the Mic Plug, UConnect Mirror

Hello,

Newbie here. I got my 2011 Dakota a little over a year ago and I've decided to add a few things to it. The first is the auto-dimming mirror with the dual microphones (part 55157457AD). I got the mirror on eBay from a recycler. I also bought the wiring harness (part 82211868, from a dealership's eBay site).

When I lowered the front of the headliner to install the harness, I found an existing harness. It has the correct 16-pin plug with the same wiring configuration as the new harness. So, I plugged in the mirror and turned on the ACC and it WORKS! Awesome! At least, the auto-dimming works.

Then came the problem. After removing the radio to find the mic plug, I can't find the plug. I traced the wiring as best as I could. From the mirror, it comes down the driver's A-pillar. Behind the parking brake pedal, it joins another bundle in a plastic sheath that goes under the carpet.

From there, I can't trace the wire bundle. Best as I can tell, the bundle follows the floor up against the driver's seat and probably comes up on the other side in front of the gas pedal. There are more bundles that go up behind the air vents, but I don't know where they come from or go.

Any one know where to find the 10-pin mic plug? My next step is to add a second-hand 730N RHR. I need the mics to make it work completely.

TIA

Old 01-29-2017, 08:32 PM
bgadow
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Did you ever have any success with this? One of the upgrades we want to make on our new-to-us '09 is a Bluetooth radio; I'd really like to go with the OEM setup.

Old 02-06-2017, 08:04 PM
philipat
Veteran

Nope. I even tried a question on JustAnswer.com; but, all I got was sales information for separate microphones.