3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Lower fuel tank on 2011 Dakota

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2020, 05:45 PM
Dakota Power
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lower fuel tank on 2011 Dakota

Hello all,
Another newbie here, sorry. Anyway I'm having a problem with my 2011 Dakota that requires the lowering of the fuel tank to get to the vapor canister. I've looked at many videos to get the general procedure to perform this task and in all of these videos it's a matter of loosening the 2 tank straps, electrical and hose connections and then lowering the tank. My Dakota has a metal brace welded to both frame sections at the front of the tank. This brace holds the bearings and such for the drive shaft. Question: How is this tank lowered if it has this brace? I thought that maybe it was easier taking the bed off but the vapor canister is hidden under the cabin section of the truck and not the bed section.
The only other way I can see is grinding off the welding on the frame and removing the brace. This would leave the tank free of obstructions and could be lowered. Rewelding the brace would be the last step after canister and solenoids were changed. I'm now thinking maybe a couple of holes drilled through the brace into the frame and putting in heavy bolts and nuts might be better than welding the piece. This would let me take down the tank in the future without removing a welded part again.
I need help guys. Thanks in advance.

front shot facing rear of truck

side view showing brace at front of tank

Last edited by Dakota Power; 08-17-2020 at 11:44 AM. Reason: put pictures
Old 08-17-2020, 04:40 AM
philipat
Veteran
Received 48 Likes on 46 Posts