Cupped Tires

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2014, 11:36 PM
zaktrafton
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cupped Tires

24k on my 2013 DD Crew. 18" wheels

Last winter i put a new set of Cooper Weather Master WSC tires on. 5k miles over winter, took them off. I ran the oe michelins all summer. Just put the Coopers back on.

My trouble is, the coopers are badly cupped and noisy as heck. Tire shop says no warranty on winter tires.

Should I run these until they smooth out or will they get worse?

Old 12-02-2014, 01:26 AM
zaktrafton
Professional

Turns out the tires are feathered.

Old 12-02-2014, 04:22 AM
nicola.dinisio
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am not an expert, but I have read that "Tire feathering is most commonly a result of improper alignment, which needs to be re-set by an expert"

http://www.ehow.com/facts_7655835_fe...ires-mean.html

It is interesting however that it happened only on your winter tires, didn't it?

Last edited by nicola.dinisio; 12-02-2014 at 04:23 AM. Reason: extended post
Old 12-03-2014, 06:58 AM
GotRPM
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool

Cupping is not feathering! The reason only the OP's winter tires are cupped is likely due to poor balancing or under-inflation (there are other causes of cupping but they are not likely here since only the winter tires are affected). Cheap tires are more prone to cupping than are high quality tires. It is usually not recommended to run on badly cupped tires.

What It Is
Tire cupping -- aka "scalloping" -- is a kind of tire wear consisting of regular divots or scoops carved out of the tire's tread. Depending on the location of the cupping, you may feel it as a vibration that increases with vehicle speed before you start seeing scoops of flat spots appear on the tire. The sensation is not unlike that of having an unbalanced wheel or tire -- which is ironic, since unbalanced wheels and tires are one possible cause.

Middle of the Tread