3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

How to Replace front Wheelbearings

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2010 | 11:18 PM
FarmTough
|
Default How to Replace front Wheelbearings

Hi,

After just replacing the third front wheel bearing between me and my dad's 1500 2WD I feel like I should share my experience; after the third time with the two of us we are able to swap the old wheel bearing assembly with a new one in about 2 hours. This is definately one of dodge ram's weak spots.....

Before I go any further, I would like to remind you that this is for 2WD trucks only. I have no experience with the 4wd trucks, and I imagine there are a few extra steps involved with drive shafts and such.

A new bearing assembly will cost about 250CAD. I figure by doing this repair yourself, you can save about 5 hours of labour, and at 80/hour it adds up fast.

When you go to order the new bearing assembly, make sure wether you have 4wd abs or only rear wheel abs.

For this fix you will need the following tools:

- 2 or 3 Jacks
- Sockets, Wrenches, big hammer, small hammer,
- WD 40
- Propane Torch, we have a Mr. Heater torch. It hooks up to your ordinary tank for you Barbeque. Make sure you have a new tank for your bbq, because after you use this torch with the tank, you are gonna wanna keep it around in the shop for other jobs in the future......
- Johnson Bar
- Pry Bars

IF you don't have the torch this job is gonna be a lot more dreadfull, and might take you a lot longer. I would strongly adivse you consider spending the 50 dollars for the torch.

http://www.zimbio.com/Travel+and+RV+...+Torch+MH500PT

Ok, you have your truck in the shop.

- Crack your wheel nuts loose
- Jack up the truck, placing the jack under the frame, far enough back where its not in the way
- Finish taking the lug nuts loose, and remove the tire, slide it under the truck for safety.