3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Tools for the DIY'er

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 05:01 AM
Chet Ubetcha
3rd Gen Ram Moderator
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Tools for the DIY'er

Up to now, I've pretty much had either the corrupt dealership service department or my local wrench take care of everything on my truck for me. I'm in the situation now where it is in my best interest to, and I'm ready and willing and wanting to, do as much on this beast as I can myself with the help of some friends and Guinness. I've been looking at a million different threads, and trying to amass what I can, but it's a needle in a haystack picking out different tools required for different jobs, if they are even listed, at all.

So, I'm a mechanical noob. I can change my oil, and tell you what most different parts of the engine/drive train are if you point to them. I've got a Chilton's manual, and I'm ready to bust some knuckles and get my fingers dirty. What's a comprehensive list of tools I should have to do scheduled maintenance, as well as some mods like: e-fan, torsion bar crank, headlight swap, brakes (ceramic pads and slotted rotors), etc...?

Old 12-07-2011, 06:38 AM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Get you a good quality mechanic's starter set. Craftsman is still your best bang for the buck, IMO. Something around a 200 pc. set can be had for about $100 (here anyway). This will give you what you need for the basics, then as you come up on stuff that would need a specialty tool, go get it. For the really specialty type tools that you'd probably use once and never again, we can borrow them from local auto parts stores for just a returnable deposit - things like torsion bar unloaders, etc. But I dunno if they do that over thataway.