P1521 & State Inspection - DodgeForum.com

Notices
3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

P1521 & State Inspection

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 09-20-2017, 12:12 PM
sbecknal's Avatar
sbecknal
sbecknal is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Garland, TX.
Posts: 9
Default P1521 & State Inspection

Will a p1521 code, wrong oil, keep a vehicle from receiving a state inspection in counties that require emissions testing? I know it a p-code but its not an emissions code(O2 sensor, gas cap)..Just wondering..06 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi...
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2017, 12:30 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,736
Default

If the check engine light is on, automatic fail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2017, 12:47 PM
sbecknal's Avatar
sbecknal
sbecknal is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Garland, TX.
Posts: 9
Default

no light on...
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2017, 12:50 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,736
Default

Then give it a whirl.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2017, 01:49 PM
sbecknal's Avatar
sbecknal
sbecknal is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Garland, TX.
Posts: 9
Default

I did..wouldnt inspect even though theres no light and its not an emissions code.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2017, 05:20 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,404
Default

Change the oil.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2017, 12:39 PM
Chet Ubetcha's Avatar
Chet Ubetcha
Chet Ubetcha is offline
3rd Gen Ram Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 1,449
Default

Do they actually scan for codes where you are at? It's been so long since I've had to have a legitimate inspection in America...

But, yeah, ANYWHERE I've ever known, CEL = no go. If there's no light on, are they digging for stuff? Also, "wrong oil"??
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2017, 11:24 AM
sbecknal's Avatar
sbecknal
sbecknal is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Garland, TX.
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Chet Ubetcha View Post
Do they actually scan for codes where you are at? It's been so long since I've had to have a legitimate inspection in America...

But, yeah, ANYWHERE I've ever known, CEL = no go. If there's no light on, are they digging for stuff? Also, "wrong oil"??
Oil is right, not that old...new sensor...believe they were digging but finally got it inspected.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2017, 04:30 PM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,488
Default

There was a software flash to keep that code at bay a while back. Too sensitive. But I think the flash just stopped the CEL from coming on. Not exactly sure.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: