3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Automatic Headlights DIY - 06, 07, & 08's

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2008, 02:15 PM
bwhite757
All Star
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Automatic Headlights DIY - 06, 07, & 08's

This is actually a pretty simple mod to do, if you know what you're doing. There's a lack of information on the net concerning our trucks in this area, so it took a LOT of digging to find out the information I needed in order to wire this up. I hope it helps out anyone interested in doing this mod.

**DISCLAIMER**
I am not an electrician, car technician, or professional installer. Tampering with your vehicle electronics could void your warranty, and possibly cause serious side effects to your vehicle. Please do this AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Things you need:
-DEI 545t Nite Lite Unit - This is what makes this mod possible I picked up one on eBay for $30 shipped

-Wire (Different Colors Makes it easier)
-Wire Connectors
-Shrink Wrap
-Electrical Tape
-Solder and Soldering Iron
-Cable Ties

First things first, disconnect the negative side of your vehicle's battery. You are working with the electronics of your truck and in close vicinity of the driver's airbag. DO NOT skip this 2 minute step, it could save your life!!!

Now what are we trying to accomplish here? We want the DEI unit to trigger our headlights when it becomes dark. The DEI unit comes with 2 relays, however we only need one. Our headlights are triggered when a resistance of 660 Ohms is put onto the headlight circuit. Trust me, it's easier than it sounds.