3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Newbie Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 08:43 PM
KC9JVC
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Question

Hello Guys,

I hate to ask this question but being that I have never done anything like this before so here it goes.

I just purchased a 02 Ram QC 1500 5.9L 4x4 and absolutely love it, minus a few details.

The first and formost detail that I don't like is that it has 3.55 Open Dif. gears in it. IMHO it makes it a little usless for towing, even though it can.

I called around to a couple of local shops in town to find out what it would cost to change this to 3.92 Anti-Spin and this is the only quote I have received thus far.

Change Gears from 3.55 to 3.92 front and rear and install Trac-Loc carriers front and rear, I believe he said some bearing work and fluids all said and done out the door and down the road $2,800.

Now I know this could be done cheaper, but the problem is I wouldn't know where to start, so my question is this. Is this a fair price? Is there something better/cheaper that I could be looking at? Finally, would there be anyone that lives near me (Mosinee, WI) who could do this work for me (I will be more that willing to provide beer, steak and $$$ for your trouble, especially if you save me a lot of $$$.

The other detail is minor...the tires are nasty and basically useless in the snow. But as I said before, that is minor...I can handle picking out tires fairly well, however I will accept any recommendations is a 6/8 ply LT265/70R17 that you may have.

I appreciate any advice you can give me. Thank you

Old 02-09-2008, 08:49 PM
mmstar23
Champion
Default RE: Newbie Question

i would go higher than the 3.92 IMO

Old 02-09-2008, 08:54 PM
caliboy@heart
Veteran

ORIGINAL: mmstar23