3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

whats a power wire?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2008, 06:22 PM
rtmtrrdr
All Star
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default whats a power wire?

i know this my sound really bad but, i'm a noob when it comes to all of this electronic mods you can do.this is my first newer truck (the newest before this one was a '96 ranger).and i see all of this talk about a power wire.what is it?.and what does it do to your truck exactially?i'd like to see if this would be something i'd like to do to mine if it helps.thanks

Old 05-25-2008, 11:08 PM
ivaskaj
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: whats a power wire?

A wire that delivers power to something. An amp, fog lights, etc... You need an accessory before you need one, unless you just want a wire to nowhere.

Old 05-25-2008, 11:17 PM
John M
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A power wire is simply a 4.7 kohm resistor inline with the intake air temp sensor. You can do it yourself for less than $2, or pay whatever they're going for on ebay for a plug & play wire with the resistor & correct plugs on it. Either way the computer thinks the intake air is 20 degrees cooler than it actually is. You get more timing & fuel sprayed. The oxygen sensors correct for the extra fuel and you're left with just extra timing which is what you wanted in the first place.

I crimped the resistor in place and taped it all back up. It's a mod I'll never undo and the price was right.

Old 05-25-2008, 11:19 PM
claydawg
Rookie

Here's the description and a link to the site:

Description:
PLUG & PLAY 8-10RWHP in less than 60 seconds. The POWER WIRE will be the quickest and easiest mod you have ever installed. Reports of .5 to 1 MPG have been reported under easy driving conditions.

Details: