3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

changing plugs...

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 12:01 AM
cyclone429
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default changing plugs...

I got a quote for 350.00 cdn to change the plugs in my 5.7. five bucks per plug times 16 + Labour.

Never new copper went up in price, how ever, I decdied I'm doing it my self.

The 2 plugs behind the brake boaster look like a SOB, + the coil pack. but I'm going to do it.

I'm new to coil packs, I have swapped out a lot of plugs with spark plug wires, but I do have questions with the coil packs.

Disconecting the battery is a no brainer, but do I have to disconect the connection to the coil pack, or can I just take off the coil pack to get at the Plugs?

Once I take off the coil pack, is thier a gasket or rubber seal that seals on to the valve cover?

A lot of advise says to use copper plugs, but why every 50,000 km? On my old beaters from the 80's I could get four times the life out of the same copper plug, but Iron block, iron heads, dose a AL. head do something to the Copper?

And how tight are the plugs installed at the factery, I don't want to bust off the ceramic part of the plug, bean thier done that, but than I was never worried, back than I had my own version of MDS....

Now, is going to A Iradium plug going to foul up the plugs? I have been told the igntion coumputer ( ya I know its one for all the truck ) gets confused trying to fire a Platt. plug amd works best with copper..

Thanks .....

Old 07-08-2008, 01:19 AM
TheUsed801
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: changing plugs...

What engine do you have?

Old 07-08-2008, 01:44 AM
SeVeReDiStOrTiOn
Record Breaker