3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Rear windwows tinted w/ pics

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 09:10 AM
Jeffylee
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear windwows tinted w/ pics

I tinted my rear and rear side windows. They already had a factory tint but it wasn't very dark. I've tinted at least one window in pretty much every vehicle I've ever owned (around 12) but I'm no pro. Some worked out great some not so great.

Anyway, the rear window was average with a little swearing but it ended up looking good. My surprise was the rear side windows. They ended up being so easy and look great. After about 30 minutes of cutting the sheet close to the size of the window, trying to tape it to the window and trimming it I said "f' it, I'm taking the window out". The total time for the first one out, tinted and back in was about 45 minutes and the other took about 30 minutes.

I've seen lots of posts with people saying not to try doing it yourself but if your thinking of doing it just go for it. If it doesn't work out you're only out 25 bucks or so. If it does you've saved at least $100.

Old 08-16-2008, 09:18 AM
mackie

Looks decent... what did you learn out of the experience or what should someone thinking about doing it know ahead of time?

How hard was it to remove the glass from the door? I planned on replacing the rear speakers soon so I could always tint the glass while everything is exposed.

Cheers

Old 08-16-2008, 11:06 AM
HEMIslide
Rookie

That looks good...How long did that little project take?

-slide

Old 08-16-2008, 11:34 AM
SeVeReDiStOrTiOn
Record Breaker

Looks good man...any tips you can give us about laying tint?

Old 08-16-2008, 04:51 PM
Jeffylee
Rookie