3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Changing radio help

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008 | 11:23 PM
stevo3176
|
Default Changing radio help

I have the stock dodge ram single cd radio with a current sirius satellite subscription. I hate the radio and want to replaced it. I have replaced everystock radio I have owned, but before I do this I have a question for someone who has personally replaced theirs. My question is how does the sirius radio hook up to the new radio. Is there certain radios I have to look for? Does the siruis have a reciever that is seperate from the stock radio or is it bundled inwith the stock radio. Like I said I have done radios, amps and speakers but I am new to the sate radio. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 12-19-2008 | 11:31 PM
lxman1
Site Moderator

It does have a separate receiver, but I'm not sure what aftermarket head units will work. I upgraded to the factory RAQ 6 disc MP3 unit myself.

Old 12-21-2008 | 02:51 PM
stevo3176
|

Anyone else changed their radio?

Old 12-21-2008 | 03:10 PM
kincer04hemi

Check with your local stereo shop or crutchfield.com they will have what you need. I got my Kenwood from there they are very knowledgeable.

Old 12-21-2008 | 03:14 PM
JoeHemi
Record Breaker
Old 12-23-2008 | 10:24 PM
stevo3176
|

I checked the crutchfield site out and it did not answer my question. I just want to know how people with aftermarket radios got their sirius to work through their new radios. Does the sirius reciever just hook up to the new radio and work? Or do I need to get a new reciever for the radio? I m just looking for someone who changed their radio by them self and got theri sirius to work..

Old 12-23-2008 | 10:56 PM
sos
All Star