3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

No oil pressure when cold

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 12:52 PM
AlliFinn
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question No oil pressure when cold

Hello all,
I am a newbie around here. I have been having some issues with my pickup. I am just looking for a little input. I will list it out so there isn't so much reading.
Keep in mind: I live in Michigan so it has been very cold lately.

1)no oil pressure on gauge when cold, after 14-20 sec oil pressure registers.
2)dealer replaced sending unit
3)sent truck back 2 weeks later
4) they have had my truck for a week, they thought is was the cluster
5)found out that the truck truly does not have oil pressure when gauge shows zero, but oil pressure kicks in after 14-20 seconds..

Plan A: Fresh oil change
Plan B: replace valve in oil pump

Has anyone had this happen to them? what was the turn out?

Thanks,
Allison

Old 02-02-2009, 01:11 PM
Ilovemytruck
Veteran

Somebody once said that their PCV valve froze in very cold weather and caused oil pressure problems...
I cant believe the stealer cant fix the problem!
Hopefully dirtydog, nick or hammer will chime in lol, there the experts.

Maybe try a 5w 30 synthetic or a 0-30 synthetic if it gets that cold...

Last edited by Ilovemytruck; 02-02-2009 at 01:22 PM.
Old 02-02-2009, 01:42 PM
AlliFinn

Originally Posted by Ilovemytruck
Somebody once said that their PCV valve froze in very cold weather and caused oil pressure problems...
I cant believe the stealer cant fix the problem!
Hopefully dirtydog, nick or hammer will chime in lol, there the experts.

Maybe try a 5w 30 synthetic or a 0-30 synthetic if it gets that cold...