3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

SLT front bumper valance: AKA Black thingy

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 08:51 PM
RamNSX
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SLT front bumper valance: AKA Black thingy

Hey all... so I was looking at taking the black valance off of the bumper of my 08 Ram SLT, and when I got stumped with the removal of the stupid thing, I came across a thread or two that mentioned that this piece actually served a higher purpose than to simply line up the bottom of the front bumper with the bottom of the rest of the truck. Air circulation to the rad seemed to be the common statement on this. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Aerodynamically (I'm a pilot so I'm a simple guy...), this doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me, except to say that it may help the air eddy behind the bumper... that's a stretch in my mind though...

Next... so there's two screws that sit quite tactfully and quietly behind the bumper that are a pain to get at. They almost seemed to mock me when I stared at them. Any tricks for gettin' this thing off?

Thanks!

Old 02-09-2009, 09:25 PM
hemiguy0302
Record Breaker

Holy hell a fellow Albertan. This doesnt happen that often.

Old 02-09-2009, 09:43 PM
CreativeOffroad
Captain

Take it off-roading and it'll break off if you hit enough jumps. At least that's what it took to get mine off, though it wasn't on purpose when it happened

Old 02-09-2009, 09:56 PM
6 hemi ram
Professional

the first thing i did when i got her was take that piece off. mines a 6 though. i think it was like 6-8 small bolts hanging it on.

Old 02-09-2009, 10:05 PM
raminator08
Record Breaker