3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

think outside the box

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2010, 10:28 PM
herring_jerritt
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default think outside the box

im a welding engineer so alot of the things on my truck and friends trucks are home made. one of the ideas that i have been toying around with is this. one of the major problems with trucks when you race them is the light rearend so you cant get traction. you can fix this by puttin weight in the bed but that is also added weight to the truck. i think you could get a z06 corvette rearend which has a tourqe tube that goes from the motor to the transmission which is part of the rear end and put that in the truck. basicly you would be moving the transmission to the back of the truck puttin more weight over the rear wheels without makin the truck weigh more. plus you now have a transmission/rearend thats rated for 600+ hp

her is a link to what the rearend looks like to give you a better mental pic
http://www.thewarfields.com/img/Cars...Drivetrain.jpg

Old 03-10-2010, 11:30 PM
Bent
Veteran

I don't rac3 trucks or cars, so my opinion may not matter, but I did spend some time on ice ovals racing three-wheelers, one of the key things wasn't weighting down the vehicle which would be detrimental - but rather getting the available weight to transfer to the rear.
Would softening or reducing the rear springs' spring rate to allow the truck to squat down when under power be of benefit to increase traction?

Old 03-10-2010, 11:32 PM
oefootball_70
Champion
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

what about traction bars from moes?

Old 03-10-2010, 11:35 PM
herring_jerritt
Veteran