3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Hemi is great but it can't haul. The solution.

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2010, 11:09 AM
sickdaze
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hemi is great but it can't haul. The solution.

(I have no doubt this has been covered but I searched and didn't find anything specific to my question)

-My previous truck was a 96 Ram 4x4 with the 5.2 and the power/torque was pretty well matched to it's hauling ability.

Now I have an 04 Ram 1500 QC 4x4 5.7 that I've had for a year and half. It has plenty of power but a 1/2 ton suspension that doesn't match the engine (imo).

I'm a contractor who is just starting out so upgrading to a 3/4 or 1 ton isn't an option right now. I'm just looking to upgrade the rear suspension for the time being to better suit my needs. I'm tired of loading it with a few bundles of shingles or half the sheetrock I need only to find that I'm on the bump-stops.
Are $100 helper springs my best option or is there something better.
-I don't care about how it looks.
-I don't care about ride quality.
-I'll sacrifice perfection for price at this point but I don't want to do any damage to the truck.

Any help would be great.
Thanks Guys.

Old 04-30-2010, 11:17 AM
Pyro
I Beat Tetris
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Airbags, you can get a lot out of em for a $200 set...

Old 04-30-2010, 11:27 AM
sickdaze

Thanks, is there a particular brand or brands that you would suggest? And/Or what should I look for when buying a set?

Also, what are the advantages of airbags over Add-A-Leaf's or Helper springs?
Basically, are there advantages to airbags that justify spending double the money?

I really appreciate the response Pyro.

Old 04-30-2010, 11:33 AM
John M
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts