3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Why do V8's eat so much gas?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2005 | 01:28 AM
homer_simps1
Default Why do V8's eat so much gas?

I have no knowledge of automobile engineering so that is why I am wondering. My Hemi eats more gas than Louie Anderson does food. Can someone tell me why?

Old 06-14-2005 | 01:38 AM
Drew
Professional
Default RE: Why do V8's eat so much gas?

you said it yourself. . .HEMI

realy and truly, if alot of these emissions BS didnt exist and the refineries would increase the octane rateing across the board to where it was back in the day fuel mileage would be better. but it has mostly to do with emissions.

But to produce power means the need for more fuel. and the more fuel you add to the fire the more power output you get.

Old 06-14-2005 | 01:38 AM
moparturd
Banned

Do you want the scientific, but written in plain english version. Or the bert and ernie version.

Old 06-14-2005 | 02:25 AM
Wulf60