3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Draining power steering fluid tomorrow, for real this time!

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2012, 11:19 PM
CodeBlox
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Draining power steering fluid tomorrow, for real this time!

I've never done it before but I think that it was either done incorrectly or not at all by the people I paid to do it. I know I made a thread about this about a month ago but I'm just gonna go ahead and do it tomorrow. Let me outline the steps and you guys tell me if I got this correct.

1) Disconnect the two hoses that come from the cooler (which is in front of my radiator). One comes from the PS reservoir and the other goes from the pump itself but they both come out of the cooler in the front
2) Let the fluid drain into a bucket until it stops
3) "Bump the starter" so that even more fluid drains
4) Reconnect the hoses and fill fluid
5) start truck and turn steering wheel left to right a few times
6) Check fluid level again and fill to proper level.

A few questions: Are these steps correct? Is it required that I lift the truck so that the front tires aren't on the ground? Can someone recommend a good ATF+4 for the PS aside from mopar? I cant find that stuff around here, anywhere.

Old 05-01-2012, 11:41 PM
johnnyjaws98
Veteran

disconect the pump line let it go into a bucket run it till it stops flowing hook it up and rfill

Old 05-02-2012, 10:57 AM
hillbilli
Veteran

It will be easier to turn if the front wheels are off the ground but not necessary.

Yout could also unhook the belt and turn the PS pump by hand.

http://www.centerforqa.com/licensedatf4brands.html

Any of those fluids meet the requirements and will work just fine.

Old 05-03-2012, 08:19 AM
CodeBlox
Professional