3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Weird vibration/noise when braking

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 09:38 AM
jdr5095
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird vibration/noise when braking

I am currently trying to figure out an issue that I am having with my '04 ram 1500 and am hoping you all may have a solution. When I am braking to a stop, my truck vibrates rather violently. The vibration seems to be generated from the front of the vehicle, but I'm no expert. I've had this problem for some time now; I've replaced all the rotors/pads on the truck, and this last time I replaced the front calipers, rotors, and pads, and the problem seems diminished (although not totally gone) for a few hours of driving, but then it comes back, sometimes worse than before. I've had several mechanics say its the rotors, but it doesn't seem to be the lasting solution. Yesterday I had our company mechanic just take it for a spin, and he seems to think that the issue is neither rotors or the bearings, and is frankly stumped as well. So, there's the issue, any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank-you.

Old 01-16-2013, 03:50 PM
Gone Fishin
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Suspend the entire front end on the frame and check the front end over, particularly the ball joints and steering components to ensure nothing has become worn or loose. Also check he front bearing hubs to ensure they are not worn.

Old 01-17-2013, 07:53 AM
jdr5095

I will do that...thank-you much

Old 01-17-2013, 09:43 AM
DodgeCACares
Record Breaker
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Jdr,

Keep us posted on the outcome after you look at it. If you need additional assistance feel free to PM me!

Old 01-17-2013, 09:59 AM
Izero
Champion
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts