03 Ram 4.7 Rough Idle - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > 03 Ram 4.7 Rough Idle
Notices
3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

03 Ram 4.7 Rough Idle

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 03-24-2013, 01:04 PM
Scoty89
Scoty89 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5
Default 03 Ram 4.7 Rough Idle

I have a 2003 Ram 1500 with the 4.7 L that has a rough idle at a stop light or sign. Sometimes it idles bad enough that it dies but it will restart. It doesn't set any DTC's. I have tried a new throttle position sensor and downstream O2 sensor. If i unplug the downstream O2 sensor the truck seems to run fine. Any one have any ideas? Any help will be appreciated
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2013, 01:29 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw
jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,376
Default

By downstream, you are referring to the sensor after the catalytic converter, correct? Just making sure, some people confuse the downstream/upstream definitions.

For future reference:
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-r...s-section.html
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2013, 08:50 AM
p38251
p38251 is online now
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 2,002
Default

When was it's last tune up. throttle body cleaning.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2013, 06:39 PM
Scoty89
Scoty89 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5
Default

Yes i am referring to the one after the converter. As far as the tune up i don't know. My friend has owned it since May and they haven't done anything to it. i did check the throttle blade. I didnt see any build up on it. And i did remove the IAC and check it. There wasnt really build up on it either. I did use a rag and wipe it clean.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2013, 02:31 PM
Suckingas03's Avatar
Suckingas03
Suckingas03 is offline
Professional
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 129
Default

I had a misfire in one of my cylinders. One of my plugs was smashed and had the incorrect gap. It ran rough, and I would pull up to a stop light and the truck would just shake so bad. My truck didnt throw any codes for a day or two. Might pull the plugs and check the gaps and see if they need replaced.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2013, 03:47 PM
p38251
p38251 is online now
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 2,002
Default

Start with a tune up. Unless the previous owner knows when it was done.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Miketech137
Dodge Caravan
5
10-20-2015 06:27 PM
ELMST
3rd Gen Ram Tech
33
08-27-2015 09:13 AM
MoparNut87
1st Gen Durango
9
07-30-2015 04:30 PM
JoshuaYsassi
2nd Gen Ram Tech
63
07-24-2015 12:14 AM
pilotforlife
Dodge Stratus
3
07-08-2015 10:35 AM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.